How to get a California Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) 
For those living in California, it might seem like an unnecessary process to get clearance for a medical marijuana card in California in 2021. While recreational use is legal, there are a lot of other reasons and benefits for why you should get a medical cannabis card with your medical marijuana recommendation.
To get an MMIC card you must have a valid medical marijuana recommendation from a doctor. FadeMD offers medical marijuana recommendations and evaluations. To get your medical marijuana recommendation and card, go to FadeMD California to get it in 10 minutes or less.
Since the passing of Proposition 215 in 1996, the use of medical marijuana has been legalized. This passage is known as the Compassionate Use Act (or the California Health and Safety Code 11362.5) and enabled many people with qualifying conditions to enjoy the benefits of medical marijuana. In 2016, Proposition 64 was passed to legalize the adult use of marijuana, allowing legislation to pass the Medical and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA). The MAUCRSA is implemented to offer a regulated system for recreational and medicinal use of cannabis.
According to the California Compassionate Use Act, it is legal for an adult to transport, grow, and possess cannabis as long as the following were met:
- The marijuana was used as a treatment for a severe medical condition
- The marijuana was solely for personal use
- A recommendation/approval was in hand, issued by a California licensed medical professional
So why would a person who uses medical marijuana still want to acquire a medical marijuana card if they can use the legal recreational market? There are several advantages a legal medical marijuana cardholder can enjoy.
Benefits of Medical Marijuana Cards in California
- Patients purchasing cannabis with a medical marijuana identification card are not charged sales tax.
- Patients who are under 21 years are still able to obtain medical marijuana, provided they are issued with a recommendation from a California Doctor. Patients under the age of 18 years would require further permission in the form of parental consent)
- Medical marijuana dispensaries will often more readily stock strains conducive to medical use, such as high CBD and low THC strains, which aren’t nearly as common in recreational stores.
- As a medical marijuana patient, a doctor’s recommendation allows a patient to both cultivate and possess larger quantities. The MAUCRSA allows for an adult over the age of 21 to have no more than 1 ounce of marijuana, 8 grams of concentrate, and only 6 plants grown on private property. An eligible medical marijuana cardholder is able to possess as much as 8 ounces and may cultivate 12 plants, as long as they are immature, and six mature plants.
How to Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in California 
Instead of applying through an evaluation center or a physician, Potential patients should apply for a card via a county program after receiving the appropriate doctor’s recommendation. Each county will have a set of contacts for this card and can be found via the county offices or contact information page linked right here.
- Doctor’s Recommendation
Get the proper medical marijuana doctor’s recommendation. This can be done online directly through FadeMD where you will be evaluated.
Finding a doctor to issue you with a medical marijuana card is easy, as many medical marijuana doctors are available online.
What are the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana users in California?
- Chronic pain
- wasting syndrome (also known as Cachexia)
- Severe nausea
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Other chronic symptoms may limit a person’s ability to conduct regular activities or any persistent condition or symptoms that prohibit normal functioning or life activity. The definition can be found in the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.
- Fill Out County Application
Apply through your county. Fill out the appropriate application form. Be sure to apply for the county in which you reside before you fill out the form.
Here’s what you’ll need:
- A copy of your medical recommendation from a doctor from California.
- Proof of identity (ID card or California driver’s license).
- Proof of residency (mortgage or even rental agreement, California DMV motor vehicle registration, or utility bill.
There might be a county fee that will have to be paid. While these can range depending on your county, they will not be over $100.
A note on the fees:
If you are a Medi-Cal patient, you will be eligible for a 50% reduction in the fee. For low-income patients that belong to the County Medical Services program, this fee can be waived altogether.
Obtaining a Medical Marijuana Card in California: Some Things You Should Know
- Thirty days: the number of days counties have to verify applications
- Five days: the amount of time the counties have to make the medical marijuana card obtainable
- Minors: minors may apply for medical marijuana cards in California under the following conditions:
- May apply as a patient if they have declared self-sufficiency status
- May apply as a patient if they have been emancipated (lawfully)
I Have My Medical Marijuana Card In California: Now What?
As a qualified patient, you may cultivate your own cannabis plants at home or purchase marijuana from licensed medical marijuana dispensaries.
Out-of-State Patient? Here’s What You Need To Know:
California state regulations do allow for adults who are not residents of California to purchase recreational marijuana. However, the patient should have at least one of the following:
- State ID
- Valid Drivers Licence
- Federal ID
As a patient, whether resident or non-resident, you will need an approved California physician before you purchase medical marijuana in the Golden State of California. Cannabis purchased in the state of California cannot cross state lines, and marijuana purchased outside of state lines cannot be brought in the state either.